Feed Your Spirit, Don’t Starve it!


Hello Everybody!

I know I have been kinda busy with Easter activities last week since I was involved in a Cantata that went very well by the way. We performed twice on Good Friday and Resurrection Sunday and let me tell you it was warfare throughout the production but I believe we reaped a harvest of righteousness in that some people found salvation through the play (James 3:18). I was soo worn out by it all that I decided to take a break from blogging for a while just to rejuvenate and now I’m back and would like to share something with you today. I just wanted to share a thought that occurred to me yesterday when I was at cell group participating in an inner healing course, and it’s about how we view ourselves “Image-wise” in our walk as Christians in the Body of Christ.

The Word of God is living and powerful as it gives life to us but that’s only if we meditate on it day and night and feed our spirit-man with it daily. It occurred to me that we have people in the Body of Christ who are anorexic in their spirits.

“Anorexic in their spirits? What are you talking about SHERLINE!!!??”

Let me explain.

I shared this thought with the group I was with yesterday and thought it best to share it here on the blog. When I pondered about this further…it kind of horrified me because it was such an epiphany. How do we perceive ourselves in the Body of Christ?

What are we feeding or NOT feeding our Spirit-man???? 

via weightlosspills99.com/

Consider that the natural disorder of Anorexia nervosa  is an debilitating condition that targets the mind of a person to feel convinced that they are overweight and/or obese when in fact they are below the normal average body mass because of their inappropriate eating habits. It becomes difficult to rehabilitate a person who is completely convinced that they “just have to starve their bodies” in excess of food to maintain what they think is “ideal” in body figure. This starving behaviour becomes a serious disorder that fragments the persons mental functions and capacity to rationally reason in that as they continue to starve their bodies in excess, their mental functions become impaired and this often leads to death when left untreated.

The major issue of this disorder is linked to self-perception – which concerns how one views their Self-image and their Self-worth. It becomes an unhealthy obsession that is targeted at becoming the “perfect ideal image” by the World’s definition and standard in light of how the world perceives the individual.  It is amazing how one can look in the mirror and see an obese image of themselves when in reality, they are actually and most likely average and healthy on the outside.

This way of thinking is very dangerous and debilitating to ones self-image because of the mere fact that all it takes is a person’s decision to believe and accept a LIE in order for one to suffer such a mind-breaking, soul crushing and physically deforming disorder. 

I’m of the opinion that the disorder of anorexia deforms a persons true worth, true perception of self, and true physical nature and form of their body by such a negative belief that “You’re not good enough until….you fit societies standards and definition of self-image”. The Word of God says you are FEARFULLY AND WONDERFULLY MADE!!!! Why try to conform to societies standards when the solid rock foundation in which we should stand is the WORD OF GOD (The Bible).

Romans 12:2
And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

Ephesians 4:23
and be renewed in the spirit of your mind,

Believing in a lie has dire consequences to ones life-span. Anorexics are caught up in a lie that affects them on an emotional level, physical level and spiritual level. In the same way, lies affect our spirits as Christians. 

Ask yourself, what are you choosing to believe in??? The Truth or the Lies???

When you see how it operates in the natural it is now easy to understand how it also functions in the Spirit.

How do we view ourselves and how are we feeding our Spirit?

When I think about that, I think about how we as Christians do the same thing.

Are we anorexic Christians seeking validation from how the World perceives us or are we strong in our conviction and believing in the report of the Lord?

We must believe in the Word of God and believe in how God sees us and not allow ourselves to be obsessed with trying to “fit in” the world’s definition of our own self-image because that is a COUNTER-FIT (Counterfeit) way of thinking.  We are Children of God and we are made in His image and likeness from the very beginning of the foundation of this world.

The World has in a way dulled our senses and made us disillusioned about who we are in Christ by trying to define us through fashion magazines, television, media, school, history, religion, philosophies, etc…but we need to stick to the WORD and believe in that Word.

The only way to escape becoming a “spiritually anorexic Christian” is by feeding your spirit-man with the WORD that GIVES LIFE and a LIFE OF ABUNDANCE.

REMEMBER: You have the choice and the ability to believe in a lie or believe in the TRUTH. The Way of TRUTH is Life…and the way of Lies is Death. So my epiphany to you today is Seek to feed your Spirit man with the TRUTH so that you don’t end up like a lost Christian obsessing over your image by filling yourself with unhealthy habits,unhealthy thought patterns, and unhealthy activities that potentially starve and grieve the Holy Spirit in you. Believe in the WORD of GOD and eat of it, for in it there is Everlasting Life!!!!

I Have here a Song to minister to your spirit today by Men of Standard  (feat. Tye Tribbett) called YOURS. May it bless you today everybody!

https://nightshade130.wordpress.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/01/imagesca6t2mhw2.jpg?w=572&h=160&h=160

Scriptures to Meditate

Psalm 139:14
I will praise You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Marvelous are Your works, And that my soul knows very well.

Psalm 119:27
Make me understand the way of Your precepts; So shall I meditate on Your wonderful works.

Philippians 4:8
[ Meditate on These Things ] Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthymeditate on these things.

Genesis 1:26
Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness; let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, over the birds of the air, and over the cattle, over all the earth and over every creeping thing that creeps on the earth.”

John 14:1
[ The Way, the Truth, and the Life ] “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me.

John 11:40
Jesus said to her, “Did I not say to you that if you would believe you would see the glory of God?”

John 12:47
And if anyone hears My words and does not believe, I do not judge him; for I did not come to judge the world but to save the world.

Hebrews 4:12
For the word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart.

Zechariah 8:9
“Thus says the LORD of hosts: ‘Let your hands be strong, You who have been hearing in these days These words by the mouth of the prophets, Who spoke in the day the foundation was laid For the house of the LORD of hosts, That the temple might be built.

Ephesians 6:10
[ The Whole Armor of God ] Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might.

1 Corinthians 3:16
Do you not know that you are the temple of God and that the Spirit of God dwells in you?

1 Corinthians 6:19
Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?

2 Corinthians 6:16
And what agreement has the temple of God with idols? For you are the temple of the living God. As God has said: “I will dwell in them And walk among them. I will be their God, And they shall be My people.”

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

25 thoughts on “Feed Your Spirit, Don’t Starve it!

  1. Great post! Lord I pray for those who fall into this pit. May a healthy way of thinking and living start to become a lifestyle and not just a momentary habit.

    Blessings to you sis!

    Like

  2. You know I think we are kindred spirit. I too had to seek the Lord for a refreshing. I’ve been sick for 2 weeks with 2 different ilnnesses and it can be draining physically and spiritually. I got into some special prayer and bible study and God poured His refreshing water on me. When I read your blog I said wow…we have a lot of shared experinces.

    I love your blog title.

    I refuse to get Anorexic in my spirit because it’s spiritually unhealthly. I need Gods best every minute of every day. When I feel spiritual weakness occuring I know what to do and I try to do it ASAP.

    God bless you and i pray people are blessed by your blog today.

    Like

    • My Goodness Tanya,
      Spiritual warfare is not a joke I tell you. Especially when it comes to intercession. I will pray for you my sister. It’s one thing to stand in the gap for others but it’s another when you need it yourself. I will pray for you too and send a prayer request to my church on your behalf.

      I too believe we are of kindred spirit. The Holy Spirit is speaking and wants to be heard but have people got the ears to listen what to what He is saying? I pray that Every ear hears what the Lord is saying and my every soul learn to Believe in what God says about them. He is the final say, the final answer, the full stop in all our questions. We need to be fed daily with the Word so that our spirit is strengthened and this also helps us to be stronger in terms of spiritual warfare. When the word becomes like your daily bread, and water that you drink every day, you will always live filled and nourished.

      God Bless you sis. keepin’ you in Prayer.
      Sherline 😀

      Like

  3. This is a great post!! I have been thinking about this subject for the last few weeks. It alarming that we as Christians have not been able to discern between what God created for nourishment and what He determined as vice.As a whole we consume the things that make God cry and push aside the things that please Him. Again wonderful Sherline!! 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks Brandon!
      At the end of the day…we choose what we fork into our mouths. We choose what our daily bread is despite the fact that the Word is like living waters to our souls. We know how to feed our physical bodies…Now God is commanding that we do the same for our Spirit man as well. Everything has to come into alignment. Yes feed your body, yes feed your soul and yes feed your Spirit!

      Stay blessed today!
      Sherline 😀

      Like

  4. Hi Sherline,
    I love the analogy of spiritual anorexia and it’s an interesting idea. Our spiritual health is so link to our minds in the same way. I find I can under-feed my spirit and over-feed my body when I’m down which is lethal.
    I’ve been on antibiotics for 2 weeks and as you know have had a run of illness so I haven’t been blogging much. I put it down to warfare then God challenged me and said ‘I’m refining you. I ALLOW the difficulties to mould you, to break down your walls and to bring you to me.’ So my prayers now are prayers of thanks, thanks for the difficulties, thanks for his plans and thanks for the fact that he is purposing something in our lives.
    Praying for those of you who are battling any kind of sickness or struggles.
    Hope you had a great Easter girl. The Cantata sounds amazing!
    Fiona

    Like

    • Hi Fiona!
      Thank you for your words of wisdom. God definitely molds us His way and sometimes the journey isn’t easy but the rewards are bountiful at the end. His will for us is definitely the Jeremiah 29:11 promise to give us hope and a bright future. We must allow ourselves to be molded by His Hand by letting go of what the World shackles our minds to believe that which is contrary to God’s perfect will for our lives.
      I pray that you will receive full recovery and healing from the sicknesses you’ve had to endure. Thank you for asking about the Cantata. It was an awesome experience for me despite the warfare. It was so surreal that I felt I lived through what Jesus went through. Very emotional but soul searching and spirit building at the same time.

      You will be in my prayers hun.
      Stay Blessed and by the stripes that our Lord and Savior endured, be Healed in Jesus’ Name.
      Sherline 😀

      Like

    • awwww thanks Margaret. God keeps downloading so much that I all I want to do is share to bless others. We’re blessed to bless others with the Truth of God’s Word.

      Christ in us the Hope of Glory.
      Sherline 😀

      Like

    • Wow Kristin,
      I am honored if you think that this post will help them.
      God Loves us and wants all of His Children to see His love for them through His eyes.
      God Bless you.

      Sherline 😀

      Like

  5. This scripture you began with, “Be ye not conformed to this world, but be ye transformed by the renewing of your mind” has always been a MOST empowering and refreshing and rejuvenating concept for me to meditate upon. I am so pleased you shared it so very powerfully here today! Have a most blessed Easter Thursday!

    Like

  6. The Word of God is what sustains life. …For they are life unto those that find them, and health to all their flesh. (Prov. 4:22) Sherline with all that distracts and pulls at our attention its imperaitive that we make time to replenish our strength. There are so many who are spiritually malnurished, I pray that God will keep people like you proclaiming the truth, with the hope that lives, hearts and minds will be changed. May God be glorified!

    Like

    • Thanks Liz!

      The Word of Life is what we need to sustain our sanity, to sustain our souls, our minds and also to protect our hearts. We have to stand of a rock solid foundation which is God’s standard for us. We have to believe in the Truth of the Word and seek to dismantle anything that is contrary to it. People suffer for lack of knowledge Hosea 4:6 For a Lack of Knowledge my people perish says the Lord. The Lord has been pressing that scripture into me for a while and I feel that His heart is sad when He sees His children accepting the lies that the world bombards us with when the Truth is…we can all be set free and live free indeed in good health, in sound mind and strong in spirit. May God heal the broken and restore them to the fullness and Knowledge of Christ in them the Hope of Glory.

      Thank you for your kind and uplifting words Liz. Being a beacon of Hope for the hopeless is my desire. I’m so blessed to know a sister in Christ like you that aims are strengthening women to their full potential in Christ.
      God Be Praised!

      May God Bless your Spirit.
      Sherline 😀

      Like

  7. What a word! You used a wonderful and very thought-provoking analogy here! It’s amazing how people are so worried about their outward appearances and their physical bodies, but so few even come close to being as concerned about the the spiritual man, and feeding the spirit. For all who read this message, may it be confirmation, or a revelation! I enjoyed the song. It was beautiful! God bless you!

    Paulette

    Like

    • You are soooo right Paulette,
      God is focused on the inner man but we are too preoccupied with out outward appearance that grieves our inner man where the Holy Spirit dwells. And consider that it is the outward man that will perish and what remains eternal is our inner man which is our spirit-man. This is the man we need to fortify with the Word of truth so that the outer-man which is our flesh, is subject to the eternal part of us which is our spirit man who is also subject to the obedience of the Holy Spirit. When we understand the importance of feeding the eternal man, we will be stronger in mind, body and spirit.

      God bless you today Paulette.
      Forever remain in our Lord Jesus’ Presence.
      Sherline 🙂

      Like

      • Amen, and Amen!

        By chance, were my comments in your spam, or did they post to your page? This has been an ongoing problem, that I hope will be resolved soon. Thanks! 🙂

        Like

      • I’m glad this one is something you liked 🙂 and yes for some reason, I saw your comments in my spam box but not to worry, ‘cuz I check both regularly 😀
        Stay blessed Paulette 😉

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.