The Plumb Line – Walking in Right Standing


Hi Everybody!

I was reading a book the other day by Perry Stone called Purging Your House and Pruning Your Family Tree and came across a verse of scripture that hit me. It was Psalm 127:1.

Psalm 127:1
[ Laboring and Prospering with the LORD ] A Song of Ascents. Of Solomon. Unless the LORD builds the house, They labor in vain who build it; Unless the LORD guards the city, The watchman stays awake in vain.

The reason that this piece of scripture hit me was because I understand that whatever we do in our lives, if it’s not following God’s plan…we do things in vain. Many people run with “good” ideas…but not many people run with “God” ideas. This should go without saying; however, it still needs to be said. I have seen areas in my own life where I ran with “good” ideas but they weren’t necessarily “God ideas”. When we realize that to some extent our “good” ideas run on a basis of futility, it is then that we should stop and recognize that we are falling short somewhere. We are running our lives by might and power and are not operating by the Spirit of God. When I realized how much I tried to do things with much effort my way and saw no results… I began to recognize that I was labouring in vain. Doing things in vain is also a sign of operating in insanity; I don’t mean the clinical kind, but what I mean to say is that we start operating in the same manner, doing the same thing over and over again expecting to yield a different result. If we operated by the Spirit, we would be doing things much differently and would achieve different results. God keeps showing me this lesson over and over in different areas of my life and that is why we need to learn to Cooperate with the HOLY SPIRIT in our lives rather than rebel against Him.

God’s ways are foolishness to us but our ways are foolishness to God.

Isaiah 55:8
“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, Nor are your ways My ways,” says the LORD.

It’s amazing how some churches do their own thing even when given God-inspired direction to not pursue a course of action that could potentially compromise the integrity of the building.

What building am I speaking about?…Certainly not a brick-layered one in stone… I’m talking about PEOPLE who are the Church (the Ekklesia- the called out ones). The church is always a people and not some cement-built-brick-layered building. When churches run through legalism and not by the Spirit of God because they do not believe in all the gifts of the Holy Spirit they end up building a church by man-made hands which is through might and power even though it says in the Word that we cannot work through might and power but by the  Spirit of  God.

Zechariah 4:6
So he answered and said to me: “This is the word of the LORD to Zerubbabel: ‘Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit,’ Says the LORD of hosts.

Only God can lay down the foundation of how He wants His Church to be built because He is our Master-builder and the Chief Cornerstone.

Acts 4:11
This is the ‘stone which was rejected by you builders, which has become the chief cornerstone.’

1 Peter 2:6-8

Therefore it is also contained in the Scripture,

“Behold, I lay in Zion
A chief cornerstone, elect, precious,
And he who believes on Him will by no means be put to shame.”[a]

Therefore, to you who believe, He is precious; but to those who are disobedient,[b]

The stone which the builders rejected
Has become the chief cornerstone,”[c]

and“A stone of stumbling
And a rock of offense.”[d]

They stumble, being disobedient to the word, to which they also were appointed.

It is important to understand what’s going on here. In the Word, it says that those who believe in Him shall not be put to shame (1 Peter 2:6). Those that act in disobedience become a stumbling block of offense (1 Peter 2: 8); and to whom do they offend? Is it the people? No…they become offensive to God. When I think about this I look inside my own life and consider that there are times I have offended God by doing things “My Way” and not “His Way” which has caused me to repent countless times. I will not claim to be a saint and say I’m always obedient to God’s Word when I know for sure that that isn’t the case. That’s just self-deception right there.

How many of us have tried to build things with our own limited levels of understanding and have not followed God’s ways of doing something? We end up labouring in vain hoping that what we do will work out somehow, but have not realized that we have in a way already stepped outside of God’s will for us by yielding to our own will. This idea of stepping out of God’s will is also known as SIN. Sin is defined as missing the mark“. When we work at trying to establish our own will that goes against God’s will for our lives, we ‘miss the mark’ through our conduct. I don’t think that God desires us all to miss the mark. He wants us to always hit the target and that is why we must rely on the divine plumb line in our lives to walk steadfastly.

You must be wondering what is a Plumb line? 

A plumb line is a simple measuring tool used to determine whether or not something is perfectly vertical—upright. Usually used in construction of a building or a tall structure to ensure that the building is standing on level ground. So consider that if you were a building and if you were not standing on level ground, such a building will surely tip over and be destroyed. That is why it is important to have a building built on level ground as it’s FOUNDATION in order to stand uprightly at all times. We must always stand uprightly or strive to do so in our walk with the Lord. This is how we remain in Right-standing with the Lord.

The question is, are we standing on level ground? What foundation are you standing on?

Jesus is the plumb line in our lives (Zechariah 4:10) and the Bible is our Foundation on which we stand. 

God’s measure is always just, but if we try to work things out by our own limited abilities and refuse to yield to the wisdom of the Lord, we will always walk in an unjust measure and therefore, we cannot operate nor walk  uprightly. Such a person ends being a stumbling block of offence. We cannot afford to be this way.

So today, focus on what it means to walk in Right-standing in the Lord. Search deep within yourself and consider the areas you have not submitted to the direction of the Holy Spirit. We all have weaknesses, but we all overcome by the Blood of the Lamb and by the word of our testimony, Amen!  

https://nightshade130.files.wordpress.com/2012/01/imagesca6t2mhw2.jpg?w=572&h=160&h=160

I have here another song, actually two songs to bless your day. The First one from Myron Butler called Not My Own and New Life Worship called Wonderful, Beautiful, Glorious. May these songs bless your spirit today everybody!

MyFreeCopyright.com Registered & Protected

16 thoughts on “The Plumb Line – Walking in Right Standing”

    1. Amen Shenine!
      The Plumb line is in the midst of Gods People. Jesus is the Way, the Truth and the life and He is the plumb line that helps us learn to stand on level Ground. May we always run with “God” ideas, Amen.

      God bless you sis.
      Sherline :D

    1. I’m so glad that this post blessed you Sister Paulette. God is doing amazing things. I believe the Plumb Line is of course Jesus. We measure our standards against the Righteousness of God and Jesus is the greatest guide to help walk on level ground. May we not become a stumbling block of offense to God as we learn to hold onto the Word of Truth and stand on the solid Rock of our salvation through Jesus Christ, the Son of God. God Bless you sis!

      Sherline :D

    1. You are absolutely going to love love love that book. It is so informative regarding the issue of breaking generational curses and really compliments the other books I’ve mentioned in previous posts by Cindy Jacobs, Rebecca Brown, Bishop Bloomer and Rebecca Greenwood. It’s awesome to find people reading similar things. Let me know what you think. I might do a review of the book after I finish it. I’m half way through.

      Blessings
      Sherline :D

      1. He is such a great teacher and very in depth too. I really like how he expands on the history of a topic. Absolutely love his explanations. I would just love to sit under his anointing and listen to him preach. He’s one of my favourite teachers. Soo much to learn and so many books I need to read. God is up to something in my library lol. I would love to attend his conferences. Maybe one of these days I will. Happy reading my friends.

        Sherline :D

  1. Hey Sher! “We all have weaknesses but the blood of the lamb washes away our trespasses!” :D Our God is an awesome God. He ain’t a liar; He indeed came to save the lost souls. If we were condemned by Him then the purpose would be defeated. But His grace is sufficient for us. I am grateful every day of the reminder that God lives in me. That alone, is my motivation to walk in the right standing. I don’t wanna let the Holy Spirit down! :)

    1. Amen Girl!
      The Blood is precious to us because Jesus helps us to receive the righteousness of God through the blood and that is why Jesus is the Plumb Line. May we all strive to walk steadfastly and upright before our precious Lord and Saviour by learning that if it hadn’t been for the blood, we would all be walking on a compromised foundation that is not steady enough to keep us standing upright. Running with God is important than walking astray. May we always walk on level ground hand in Hand with the Lord Jesus Christ, Amen!

      Blessings to you sis!
      Sherline :D

Leave a Reply

